Wolf Lake, New York 2016

This past August, husband David and I escaped the oppressive heat and humidity of Georgia to visit family at Wolf Lake, New York. While there was a “heat wave” occurring while we visited, it was still lovely being there. I spent my summers at Wolf Lake and have many wonderful memories of the place. I’m so grateful for that!

Rather than a wordy post, I’ll let the photos (mostly) speak for themselves…

20160812_075931
Smitty the Wonder Dog

 

Early AM view of the lake house. I'd never seen it lit up like this before. With no foliage in the way, the rising sun hit the lake at the perfect angle to light up the house.
Early AM view of the lake house. I’d never seen it lit up like this before. With no foliage in the way, the rising sun hit the lake at the perfect angle to light up the house.

 

Division Pond
Division Pond

I was really lucky in that I got to visit with childhood friends, Susan and Lori Price, their mom Bonnie and Susan’s daughter Emma.  I hadn’t seen them in YEARS! They were enjoying the day on the other side of the lake. How did I get to them? I didn’t drive a car or walk. I rowed our 14-foot rowboat! It was wonderful visiting with them and reminiscing.

David and I walked around the perimeter of Wolf Lake almost every day of our visit. Here are some cool/fun things we saw.

View of Wolf Lake from the portage on East Road.
View of Wolf Lake from the portage on East Road.

 

Peace sign on Canal Road. It has been there FOREVER!
Peace sign on Canal Road. It has been there for as long as I can remember.

 

Another old sign that has been on Canal Road forever.
Another old sign that has been on Canal Road forever. Now it just says “CHILDREN”. I love it.

 

Beautifully balanced rocks at the spillway of Wolf Lake dam.
Beautifully balanced rocks at the spillway of Wolf Lake dam.

 

These things are SO neat! Kudo to whomever made them (with NO glue!).
These things are SO neat! Kudos to whomever made them (with NO glue!).

 

AWESOME woodland garden on East Road.
Stunning woodland garden on East Road.

Back at the house, we continued to be treated to beauty.

I'm liken this lichen.
I was likin’ this lichen.

 

Pretty view of Division Pond.
Pretty view of Division Pond.

 

SO not intimidated by me... and I was close!
SO not intimidated by me… and I was close!

 

View of the lake from the deck. So pretty!
View of the lake from the deck. So pretty!

I feel very fortunate to enjoy this special place with my family. We’ve made many memories there and I look forward to making more.

Leave a Reply

