I’ve resigned from Treetop Quest

Gosh, THAT didn’t last very long, did it?  No, alas, it did not.  I was extremely excited about working for Treetop Quest and I continue to love it and all the awesomeness the park provides.  However, a long-term position with them was not meant to be for me.  To be honest, I was not really employed by them.  After they chose me for the position, I found out that I was going to be an independent sales agent and not an employee.  Granted, it was a commission-only position, so I understood.  I did several weeks worth of cold-calling, networking and pretty much “shouting from the treetops” for any and all to come to the park.  Lots of people LOVED the idea of Treetop Quest, but honestly, few would come.  I’m not sure why.  Maybe it was summer heat? Or bad-timing with the Aimee Copeland zipline accident?  The struggle to schedule a group of employees or scouts or friends all at one time?  Some other combination of reasons?  I don’t really think it was me, but whatever the case, I realized that the amount of work required for the position did not quantify the pay.  I didn’t make any sales or money in my first month.  I did make a small amount in the second month, but it was so little, I told my boss that I wanted Treetop Quest to keep it.  The way I see it at this point, it was great volunteer work on my part!

There’s more to the story though…

I was recently given an opportunity to help a friend with her business’s workload. She does tons of fantastic web-related stuff and needed help with some of her client’s social media requirements.  I jumped at the opportunity.  Not only do I get to learn a TON about social media, Phraner Creations, LLC will get paid a little bit for it too!  This work will replenish the funds I used to create MyBelovedMug.com and it is also a perfect fit for my goal of creating multiple streams of income.  I love that I get to take on a brand new challenge.  In fact, I am really enjoying the little that I’ve done thus far and look forward to doing more!

Just so you know, it was a good parting of ways from Treetop Quest.  No (sky!) bridges were burned and I’m thankful I was able to help them bring in more business.  In fact, I have an open invitation to go play in the trees whenever I want (YAY!).  

So there you have it.  My career path is meandering all over the place right now, but I’m cool with it.  I don’t know what to expect and I don’t really know where each turn will take me, but I continue on, one foot in front of the other (just like when I hiked the beginning of the A.T.).  I’ve learned a lot thus far…much of which has been about my own self.  Yeah, there have been highs and lows, but just like Grandma (from the movie Parenthood) said, “I like the roller coaster.  You get more out of it. ”

Who knows?  Perhaps all of this will make sense in the future.  “You can’t connect the dots looking forward, you can only connect them looking backwards.”  (-Steve Jobs)

Maybe it’s good that I got pushed off the merry-go-round back in February.

Only time will tell. 🙂

9 thoughts on “I’ve resigned from Treetop Quest

  1. Wendy – Bigger and better things in your future! I still want to take the kids there! And the S2K group, too!

  2. You gave it a go and had fun doing it, right? That’s good. You have so many interests and are creative and smart — I know you’ll land great! I’m starting a new gig too! I was contract-to-hire with AutoTrader but a recruiter/friend of mine told me about a full time regular position in Duluth as an HR coordinator. I was offered the position and accepted and excited to start next week!

  3. OH MY GOSH, Linda!! That’s great! I am super excited for you, especially now that you won’t have that crazy commute anymore! You love HR too, if I remember correctly. This is such wonderful news! Congrats on your new position!!!

  4. The important thing is you gave it a shot, that’s way more that a lot of other people would have done. It was an experience that you will always remember as you move ahead and find something that you like to do AND pays the bills.

    1. You are right, Dave. I’m really glad I gave it a go, because I always would have wondered if I hadn’t! Thanks for your kindness and support (and for your awesome mug story too)!

  5. You gave it all you had and it was a learning experience (isn’t everything?) I know there are so many cool chapters ahead for you.

Leave a Reply

