So, what have I been up to now that I am unemployed?

I’ve been focusing on positives as much as possible.  To be honest, there are many, so it hasn’t been too difficult to do that.  I’m trying to keep myself busy throughout the day.  We’ve walked or hiked with the doggies every day (except for a couple when the weather was yucky).  I’ve journaled on 750words.com every morning.  I’ve been doing a TON of reading.  I’ve helped my dad learn how to use eBay and we even got two listings posted!  I’ve helped hubby David with some of his work too (though I probably hindered more than helped!).  I’ve taken pictures, just for the fun of it.  I’ve hung out with family and friends.  I’m researching and applying for volunteer opportunities with the Gwinnett Public Library, Gwinnett County Parks and Recreation and the Gwinnett Environmental and Heritage Center.  I’ve been eating a little more than usual, but hoping that my increased activity will offset the increased calories.  I have not stepped on the scale to find out. 😉  I’ve sewn on my sewing machine.  I’ve cleaned house.  I’ve cooked.  Overall, I make sure to have accomplished at least something or preferably, multiple things, each day.  Learning is a priority!  One thing I have learned is to not get too wordy with my posts, so instead of carrying on, I will share some of my favorite recent pics with you.

Here are two pics I took of Charles as he basked in the sun.  I think he likes this spot in my craft room as much as I do!

So, two surprises that we got in early Feb were 1) Daffodils were blooming all over town due to the warm weather and 2) WE actually had daffodils at the new house!  BONUS!  I love surprises like that.

Not only did we have bonus daffodils, but we also have weeds.  Lots of ’em.  But y’all know me, I try to look at things in a more positive way.  Have you ever really looked closely at a dandelion before?  Check it out, yo:

Aren’t all those little tendrils neato?!?  I thought it very pretty. 🙂  Dandelions are pretty in two ways…one in flower form as in the above pic, but also in seed form, as in the below pic:

Now, I saved the best for last.  Have y’all seen those weeds growing around sidewalks and in yards that have the teeny tiny purple flowers?  Have you every really LOOKED at the flowers?  I never have….that is, until recently,  I snapped a couple close-up pics of them and them and was amazed at what I discovered.  They are PRETTY!

Hee hee, that last pic reminds me of Beaker from the Muppets.  Nonetheless, this is indeed a weed and it is called Henbit.  There is a lesson learned here, folks.  Sometimes when you think something is bad, it’s actually pretty good.  If you take a real hard look, you just may find some beauty in that bad thing.  Don’t be quick to judge, ’cause you never know what the real deal is.  That is all. 🙂

For now… 😉

8 thoughts on “So, what have I been up to now that I am unemployed?

    1. Thanks so much, Kathy! I have thought about it A LOT actually. I have been toying with the idea of getting a DSLR but they SO expensive. I’m still mulling it over, so we’ll see….

  1. Awesome, Wendy! You are very creative and talented and I know that taking this time for yourself right now is going bring nothing but positive results for you!

Leave a Reply

