CUCUMBERS!

Yes, I know.  It has been forever and a day since I last blogged.  I apologize!  I hope to have some interesting tidbits of info forthcoming, so stay-tuned (and subscribe, so you don’t miss anything)!

So, today’s update is brought to you by the letter “C”…as in Cucumber.  David has put a lot of effort into the garden this year.  So far, he’s got corn, cucumbers, basil, peppers, marigolds and once again “rogue” tomato plants out there.  The cucumbers have been the happiest of them all.  These are more of a pickling cucumber, but look how big they got!  I’m gathering good pickle recipes.  Anyone have some they want to share?  I’ll pay ya back with a cuke!  (…or maybe a jar of pickles)  😉

4 thoughts on “CUCUMBERS!

  1. Great job!! Yummy cucumber drink:
    1 cucumber, sliced into 1/4″ discs
    1 12-oz. can frozen lemonade concentrate, thawed
    1 2-liter bottle of lemon-lime soda
    Put cucumber slices in pitcher, pour lemonade concentrate on top, let sit for a bit (an hour or more if you have the time, allows cucumber flavor to really come out). Pour soda on top, serve over ice in glasses.

    I swear this is the most refreshing, not-sticky-sweet drink EVER. I drank it constantly last year in the heat!!

    For pickles, try some from that Ball Home Canning book! So yummy!

  2. That’s awesome, Becky! Thank you for sharing this recipe. BTW – I’m DEFINITELY going to be using the fabulous book you sent me for canning and preserving our garden yummies. Thanks so much again for that! 🙂

    1. To note: best to keep that drink cold, because I served it at a party on Friday and it got warm…and ended up tasting like pickle juice!! hahaha, YUCK!! so definitely serve it over ice. 😛

Leave a Reply

