Fresh Spring Rolls!

This past week, one of our sales teams had a pot luck luncheon.  Kimly Tran, one cool chickadee,  brought in all the fixins for making fresh spring rolls and taught us how to make them!  I’ve had spring rolls at Saigon Cafe before, but these homemade ones were so fresh and tasty…better than any other I’ve had in the past.  I knew David would love them too!  A HA!  An unplugged night activity, plus dinner, plus another blogging opportunity to share with YOU!  Triple bonus 🙂

So, tonight we went to one of the Asian markets nearby (Super H in Suwanee) and picked up several ingredients:

Chives (the type that are flat leaved)

Basil

Cilantro

Red Leaf Lettuce

Carrots

Shrimp

Hoisin Sauce

Vermicelli Noodles

Kimly had already given me a package of spring roll skins (after I promised I was serious about making more at home!).

Below is Kimly’s recipe for the dipping sauce.  It ROCKS!

Drizzle some sesame oil in a hot pan and throw in some minced garlic (don’t let it burn!).  Mix in 2 Tbsp soy sauce, 4 oz peanut butter, 8 oz hoisin sauce, 1 tsp sugar, and 1/2 c water.  Cook til bubbly.  Here’s what mine looked like (with chunky peanut butter):

After the sauce was done, I put all the herbs, the vermicelli and the lettuce on a platter while David shredded carrots.  The whole spread looked like this:

To assemble, you dip the skin in the water and let it absorb for about 30 – 45 seconds. We layed the skin on a plate and put some vermicelli (the asian rice noodles), chives, basil, cilantro, lettuce and shrimp, then roll it all up, burrito-like.  Then simply dip it in the sauce and chow down!  YUM!   It’s seriously, that easy.  I encourage you to try making these.  It’s fun and easy and good for you!

In other news, David got his new fire suit tonight and I got a picture of mr goofy trying it on. 🙂

PS – Yeah yeah yeah, I know I’m not supposed to be blogging on unplugged night.  I got permission though!

Leave a Reply

