John C Campbell Folk School Trip 11/19/10-11/21/10

I have attended the John C. Campbell Folk School three times in the last few years.  It is in Brasstown, NC, only about 2 hours north of where we live.  What is it?  Well, picture arts and crafts classes for adults in multiple studios on a beautiful campus in the picturesque mountains.  The place is amazing, with so many artistic people, all of them so friendly and kind, and fabulous food, tons of fun…all while learning a new craft!  It is a magical place for me and I’ve been wanting to share this it with David ever since the first time I experienced it.  That first time was an epic trip for me.  I went by myself and ended up rooming with someone who I now consider one of my best friends, Becky.  Becky is the gal whom I went to New Zealand with earlier this year!  Anyway, back to hubby David.  A Folk School trip is not really his “thing” but he decided to give it a shot.  YAY!  We went for a short, weekend trip, which started this past Friday, the 19th.  This would be my fourth visit and, obviously, David’s first.  Here’s us on our way to the mountains.  We were (as usual) being somewhat goofy, which was due in part to us being excited about our adventure!

And here is us when we arrived.  We got registered at the Keith House (big white building with the green trim) and headed to our accommodations, which was the newly built Field House.

Here’s gorgeous view from the upstairs porch of the Field House:

I was to take a class on architectural mosaics and David decided to take….a soapmaking class!  Sweet!

Weekend classes at the Folk School are fun, but intense! There is not much time to get things done, so you gotta hop to it quickly. After settling into our room, we quickly walked around the campus. We then went to student orientation and afterward, had a nice dinner in the dining hall. After dinner, it was time to go to class! We each went our separate ways and met back up in our room after class. David’ class got out before mine did. It was freezing (like literally, in the low 30’s) when I started walking back…in the dark, woods on a dimly lit trail. I forgot my good coat, so I RAN! When I got to the room, I was a popsicle – lol!  I warmed up quickly and David and I just jabbered about how cool our classes were. I was ELATED! I was so happy that HE was happy and having a good time. He was actually really enjoying his class! Maybe it was because he was the only dude amongst nine other women! I didn’t care.  I just thought it was great.  Anyway, I won’t go into all the details of all the neat things we learned, but we did gain a ton of knowledge. David really enjoyed learning how to make soap. He made soap using coffee and coffee grounds (for exfoliant!).  Here it is!

He made other soaps too, and liked it so much, he bought the materials he needed (including the scary lye!) to make more soap in the future.  It smells AMAZING and I can’t wait for it to finish curing (4 weeks for that) so I can try it out!

I completed my Monet-like tree mosaic, along with another quickee tile trivet…both of which still need to be mounted and grouted still. You get the basic jist from my pictures though.  The tree was a lot of work and I’m pretty happy with how it turned out.

There was contra-dancing on Saturday night, that we missed because I had to finish cutting my glass and gluing it to the fiberglass mesh for my tree.  David, I’m sure, was very thankful for this. 🙂  We retired for the evening, tired but content, with all sorts of fun craftiness in our heads (though David was probably thinking more about drifting next weekend!!!).

On Sunday morning, we got up and packed up our things.  We had breakfast and went back to class for a few hours to finish up and then clean up our studios.  All the students bring their projects to the main hall for what I call “Happy Clappy”.  It’s basically show and tell with everyone presenting the things they made over the weekend.  There was some awesome stuff.  Check out this owl drawing:

These windsor chairs took a week and a weekend to make:

Of course, there was a bunch of wonderful homemade soap!  

There was jewelry and quilting and topiaries and even drum solos, among other things during Happy Clappy.  After the show, we all had a nice lunch together and then got on the road to go home.  All good things must come to an end.

I can’t wait to go back!  David and I are now thinking about taking a blacksmithing class together.  I already know what I want to make….  🙂

2 thoughts on “John C Campbell Folk School Trip 11/19/10-11/21/10

    1. Thanks Becky! I did see David Brose, but unfortunately, it was from afar and we didn’t have a chance to chat. I didn’t see Martha but did see where she’s selling some of her sheep! The weekend went by SO fast. I can’t wait to go back!

Leave a Reply

