COOKING? On such a hot day? YES! How? Read on….

So…between our CSA share and our garden, I have more than the usual amount of produce and I don’t want it to go to waste.  I really wanted to preserve as much as I could, but there is no way in heck I was going to do canning today…it’s toooo hot!  I started on tomato sauce in the crock pot yesterday and I finished making it this morning.  My first attempt at sauce, and it ain’t half bad!  I kept a little and froze the rest.  I then shelled some butter beans and crowder peas.  I was going to blanch then freeze them, but I didn’t want to turn on the stove.  I put them on trays and have them drying in the attic…which should be the perfect temp for dehydrating them.  I then went about making salsa.  It turned out pretty good too!  Again, I kept a little and froze the rest.  I got a ton of fresh basil yesterday from the farm, so I decided to go ahead and make pesto too.  I think it’s a little too lemony, but I haven’t put it on food yet, so we’ll see on that.  Once again, I kept a little and made mini ice cubes out of the rest for future use.

I was getting tired, but I really wanted to try a recipe for zucchini pie (supposed to be like pumpkin pie).  There was no way in heck I was going to turn on the oven though!  I remembered reading about a lady who did all her summer cooking on her porch.  Good idea!  I unplugged our convection toaster oven and put it in the porch.  I proceeded to make the pies, then bake spaghetti squash, then bake meatballs….all on the porch!  It worked out perfectly and I was able to keep the house nice and cool.

My dinner was baked spaghetti squash with homemade sauce and meatballs.   YUM!   I am SO tired now though.  Time to chill (literally) with a glass of cab, read the paper, watch the boob-tube and wait on my  hubby to get home from Little Talladega.  Oh, and quite possibly a slice of pie for dessert.  Ahhh!  🙂

2 thoughts on “COOKING? On such a hot day? YES! How? Read on….

Leave a Reply

